Kick the baby… don’t kick the baby!

To ease all of your minds, I do not kick my baby… the headline is just a reference to the brilliant show "South Park".
It is of course an obvious thing not to do, but somehow people suddenly feel obligated to state the obvious when you’ve had a child!
Why?
It’s weird how taking on the greatest responsibility in your lifetime degrades to a drooling idiot, who struggles to put one foot in front of the other (in the eyes of others)!

Here is how my mornings usualy goes;
I wake up, pick up my son before I take on the huge task that is descending the staircase… as luck would have it, I found the perfect solution to the major task lying before me.
I stand at the top, lean forward and hope like crazy that the thing is transforming to an elevator so that we both get down safely.

You don’t need to tell me to be carefull… you NEVER EVER did before!

And the competition for Captain obvious is fierce!
No, I’m not going to drop my son, but I’m far more likely to do so when you rattle me by shouting out "don’t drop him"!

And how is it that everyone suddenly thinks ice is more slippery after you get a kid?
I know how to walk carefully in winter… a good thing about being 31 is that I’ve tried, failed and learned for three decades!

And I’m of course aware that everything comes from a desire to be good and helpfull, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying!
As a pragmatic I like advice that actually helps me with actual problems… not with hypothetical non-issues!

Let me just say, to all of you, like Chandler said in friends; “from now on, I’m going to be carefull until told otherwise”!

PS: Occasionally I write my posts in English because I’ve gotten a couple of requests.
Also I like the challenge, and I need the practice!

#baby #parent #carefull #captainobvious #southpark #warnings

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Obligatoriske felt er merket med *

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg